Skip navigation

Okay, so I do always try to catch one segment of the Academy Awards telecast. The annual “In Memoriam” segment, where they honor those in the film industry who died over the last 12 months. (Or as I like to call it the, “Oh, Snap, They Died?” segment.) All are worthy, and I’m glad these people get their due. Sometimes it’s informative (I didn’t know that Calvin Lockhart had died. I remembered his work, and quite frankly, was shocked.) and it’s just a nice thing to do.

But I have to say this, and I hope I won’t be the only one out there who has the temerity to say it (mostly because no one reads this): How does Heath Ledger go last in the segment over Ingmar Bergman?! I’m not calling it a crime against humanity or anything, but, I mean, while Ledger’s tragedy is fresh in our minds and surely affects many of the people in the audience, Ingmar Bergman accomplished a lot more, I hate to say, than Heath Ledger. I vehemently disagree with this call. Ledger could have gone next to last with a long pause and then Ingmar Bergman should have taken us to the moment of silence.

As you can tell, I feel very strongly about this. Look, recent tragedy is tough to to deal with, but that doesn’t earn you points to leapfrog one of the most important filmmakers ever. Sorry if you’re offended, but I’m just sayin’.

3 Comments

  1. And no mention of Brad Renfro dying?

  2. i think they actually do that slideshow in chronological order. meaning, heath died most recently, so he goes last.

    then again, i could be very wrong. it’s happened before.

  3. Rick – Brad Renfro was forgotten (including by me) how does that happen?

    Heather – that sounds plausible. I remember in the past it seemed like they just waited for the biggest name to go last, especially since you didn’t want to end the montage with someone wack and unfamous like Englebert McGillicuddy, key grip on eight different Oscar winners, including “Kramer vs. Kramer”.


Leave a Reply

